Hamilton Independent School District

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
District » About Us

About Us

Hamilton Independent School District is a Texas accredited school district located in the county seat of Hamilton County, in Hamilton TX. Hamilton ISD serves approximately 830 students in grades Pre-k through 12. There are three campuses: Ann Whitney Elementary (grades pre-k through 5), Hamilton Junior High School (grades 6-8), and Hamilton High School (grades 9-12). Hamilton ISD is Hamilton’s second-largest employer with a staff of 130. The district’s mascot is the Bulldog and the school colors are Red & Black. Hamilton is classified as a 2A district in the UIL’s latest realignment.

The District received a score of 89 ("B") in the latest accountability ratings, with each campus earning multiple distinctions throughout the system. The latest TEA financial rating for the district was a perfect score – Superior.


Hamilton Independent School District will:

  1. Recruit, train and retain a high quality workforce to support student success.
  2. Maintain and develop quality facilities that provide a positive learning environment for all students.
  3. Responsibly optimize financial resources to support district goals and student success in academics and all other programs.
  4. Meet the educational needs of every student by continually addressing instruction and learning so all students reach their maximum potential.   
  5. Proactively improve communication and perception of Hamilton ISD by engaging the students, community and district employees.